If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the Forum Rules. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.
Welcome to RPGamer's new forums running under Vanilla Forums! If you're run into any odd or strange issues after our software migration please see this thread for details

Big problem here

SinSin MemberFull Members
edited June 2003 in Site & Forum Support
Something is horribly wrong here! The colors are messed and there is no longer a spoiler thingy. I do believe the problem may be Ikonboard related.
Please reply anyone with power here. This ain't good.


EDIT: Wonder how I could write like that back then and not have my head explode....



Walken1.jpg
«1

Comments

  • ViperViper Member Full Members
    edited December 2002
    You should stay off the weed. Everything is fine. Trust me. wink.gif
  • RicoRico Member Full Members
    edited December 2002
    "<span class="spoiler">Test</span>"

    Everything looks all right from my end.



  • Disket McCloudDisket McCloud Member Full Members
    edited December 2002
    maybe you need to change the color on the pc or get a new one. confused.gif
  • SinSin Member Full Members
    edited December 2002
    So then, is the site supposed to be hosted by Ikonboard?
    Is it supposed to be blue?
    Are the spoiler thingeys supposed to not exist?
    Really, something is wrong on my end then.
    And was that "test" in spoilers? Its only in quotation marks here...
    And it is a new PC and I don't smoke weed, by the way.


    EDIT: Seriously, I should be dead by now.



    Walken1.jpg
  • RicoRico Member Full Members
    edited December 2002
    This board is hosted on RPGamer's servers, and the word test was covered by the 'spoiler tag'. The only thing I can think of is that your browser may have been set or set itself to a user-defined stylesheet instead of using our provided one.
  • oldnavy_2k2oldnavy_2k2 Member Full Members
    edited December 2002
    u said ur screen is blue....

    cheak the monotor conection in the back of your computer, if it's loose ur screen'll appear blue, it happend if mine a while back so i know this.....if it's not the conection then i dont know what it could be...
  • FiremystFiremyst Daddy Dragon II Full Members
    edited December 2002
    Blue?

    How many years has it been since RPGamer was blue? ^^
    Founder, RPGamer
    I love tweeting -- follow me @ http://www.twitter.com/mtidwell
  • RicoRico Member Full Members
    edited December 2002
    Three, I think.
  • ViperViper Member Full Members
    edited December 2002
    If he says its green now, I will begin to wonder. wink.gif
  • wyvernlordwyvernlord Banned Banned Users
    edited December 2002
    Mmmm... Green... o.o *fidgets with Rico's stuff to make it look green* ^^ *whistles innocently*
  • SinSin Member Full Members
    edited December 2002
    Well, Rico, if you could help me to fix it I'd be eternally gratefull. This really ticks me off, I can neither use nor see spoilers anymore.
    Walken1.jpg
  • CyllyaCyllya Member Full Members
    edited December 2002
    He said the board was blue, not the screen. Big difference.

    You've gotten stuck with the default Iconboard setting (which is not green!). It's happened to people before on other Iconboards, but I don't know how to fix it. I would recommend reseting your cookie or cache or something. If that doesn't work, I will ask around to see if I can find someone who knows what to do.



  • FiremystFiremyst Daddy Dragon II Full Members
    edited January 2003
    How does a "default" style sheet that doesn't exist on the server override the one coded into the page? I can't see how that's possible.
    Founder, RPGamer
    I love tweeting -- follow me @ http://www.twitter.com/mtidwell
  • CyllyaCyllya Member Full Members
    edited January 2003
    Me neither, but it wouldn't be the first time it happened.

    Or there's always the theory that his monitor connection magically becomes loose whenever he visits the message board, and then it magically gets back to how it's supposed to be when he leaves.
  • FiremystFiremyst Daddy Dragon II Full Members
    edited January 2003
    Is this documented anywhere? If there are other examples online, perhaps there's a bug needing squashed.
    Founder, RPGamer
    I love tweeting -- follow me @ http://www.twitter.com/mtidwell
  • SinSin Member Full Members
    edited January 2003
    "<span class="spoiler">It all works now!!!!!</span>"
    I don't know what I did, but everything is back to normal now, and I am so happy that I can both use and see spoilers now. And the shade of blue that it had was a hideous eyesore.
    Walken1.jpg
  • SinSin Member Full Members
    edited January 2003
    It's doing it again. AAAAAARRRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHH.
    Is the adress thing at the top of the screen supposed to have the word "ikonboard" in it? What used to be the good old RPGamer sign has been replaced by the IKONboard community one.
    http://board.rpgamer.com/cgi-bin....;t=2577
    Walken1.jpg
  • ViperViper Member Full Members
    edited January 2003
    You know what would help. If you could take a screen shot of it. Just push Print Screen, load up Paint, and paste it. Then maybe we have a better idea what's up.
  • IccyhIccyh Member Full Members
    edited January 2003
    If you have other imaging program that can compress it, that would be even better. With Paint., we'll end up with a huge .bmp that takes a half hour to load on 56k =/

    At least just give the link if you're going to use Paint, rather than putting the image in here, hehe.
  • maryadaviesmaryadavies She Shoots For The Stars Somewhere east of Atlanta, GAModerators
    edited January 2003
    Board looks fine to me. FIREMYST! Somebody who knows this script! Help this guy!



    93a24222217c9c20a686db8be4676a84.jpg
    My personal page
    New to the boards? Confused? Find the answers here.
  • ViperViper Member Full Members
    edited January 2003
    </span><table border="0" align="center" width="95%" cellpadding="3" cellspacing="1"><tr><td>Quote (Iccyh @ Jan. 17 2003,22:08)</td></tr><tr><td class="QUOTE"If you have other imaging program that can compress it, that would be even better. With Paint., we'll end up with a huge .bmp that takes a half hour to load on 56k =/

    At least just give the link if you're going to use Paint, rather than putting the image in here, hehe.[/QUOTE]<span id='postcolor'>
    I just said Paint because it comes with Windows. Also he can save it as a .jpg. If you wanted to name it PIC1, when you put in the name add .jpg to the end so it would look like PIC1.jpg when you save it.
  • IccyhIccyh Member Full Members
    edited January 2003
    Can't say I've played with Paint recently, hehe. You learn something new every day :)
  • AraesAraes Member Full Members
    edited January 2003
    </span><table border="0" align="center" width="95%" cellpadding="3" cellspacing="1"><tr><td>Quote </td></tr><tr><td class="QUOTE"put in the name add .jpg to the end so it would look like PIC1.jpg when you save it.[/QUOTE]<span id='postcolor'>

    Actually, depending on the version of paint he's using this might end up with something along the lines of PIC1.jpg.bmp. ?But that's a tangent anyhow, and for the newer versions you can just click a saveas function so it shouldn't be much of a problem.

    As for Sin's unfortunate problem, I assume he's already tried clearing his cache, history, and cookies from Tools->Int. Opt. ?However, it does seem logical that the forums he's seeing are somehow crossovers using the Ikonboard default. ?Since the blue he described would match with the Ikonboard forum. ?Within the accessibility options of Int. Opt. there is a button for using your own style sheet rather than the one on the page. ?Your could see if its checked, although that seems unlikely as it would only replace the colors not the pictures I believe. ?You could also try setting your explorer to check for a new version of a page every time it loads instead of automatically under settings.

    Is it possible that if the RPGamer ?"/header/rpgamer.css" stylesheet became unavailable it reverts to the default due to some backend stuff behind the scenes and then Sin just got stuck with it? ?Hrm, not enough of a cgi board coder myself.
  • SinSin Member Full Members
    edited February 2003
    I did all of that, and it works randomly, about a 1/20 chance of having the RPGamer set up, not the Ikonboard one.
    That is, every 20th time I post, I get the correct one.
    This is getting quite irritating.
    Walken1.jpg
  • itagamiitagami Member Full Members
    edited March 2003
    I just want to see that Rpgamer's servers are seriously slow. I got a T1 line, but I can't download movies faster than 6 k/s. Something's not right.
  • SinSin Member Full Members
    edited March 2003
    1851804.jpg

    There be your pic of it. Sure took me a while, huh?
    Walken1.jpg
  • TrueGamerTrueGamer Member Full Members
    edited April 2003
    Speaking of big problems, there have been a lot of pop-up adds occurring around here lately as a navigate the site.
  • KamikazeKamikaze Member Full Members
    edited April 2003
    Call me lucky cause I haven't seen any. What exactly is popping up?
  • maryadaviesmaryadavies She Shoots For The Stars Somewhere east of Atlanta, GAModerators
    edited April 2003
    I'll try, Kami. You see, I got the pop-up blocker turned on in NS on purpose, but it does tell me when it blocked one. I've noticed that the alert goes off on RPGamer when the server is runnin' a ad for some on-line casino.

    TrueGamer, if ye are seein' more than that, ya might want to go get Ad-Aware and scan yer comp. Sometimes dirty nasty spyware (like KaZaa) can cause pop-ups on perfectly innocent sites that don't have pop-ups.
    93a24222217c9c20a686db8be4676a84.jpg
    My personal page
    New to the boards? Confused? Find the answers here.
  • TrueGamerTrueGamer Member Full Members
    edited April 2003
    KaZaa? KAZAA!?!? Hah! I knew it! My stupid cousin downloaded that thing thinking it was heaven. No WONDER my computer has been hit hard with pop-ups lately! Thanks, Mary! I've been looking for a good blocker!

    Oh, and it was a casino ad. Really flashy too, so it slows down the computer a nice bit.
Sign In or Register to comment.